Faciliter la scolarité de jeunes filles malvoyantes

FACILITER LA SCOLARITÉ DE JEUNES FILLES MALVOYANTES À ADDIS ABABA (Éthiopie) 2020-09-03T21:54:12+00:00

Project Description

Faciliter la scolarité de jeunes filles malvoyantes à Addis Ababa (Éthiopie)

  • Focus: Education
  • Lieu: Addis Ababa (Ethiopie)
  • Date de début de projet: Dès que possible (de septembre 2018 à juin 2019)
  • Club / Union : Soroptimist Club d’Addis Ababa (Ethiopie)
  • Nombre de femmes / filles que ce projet a atteint / atteindra: 25

Fonds demandés :
€ 5,000

Buts du projet

Le but principal la création d’un environnement favorable qui facilitera la participation de 25 élèves malvoyantes au système scolaire ordinaire.

Objectifs

Les objectifs du projet sont de :

  • Renforcer l’intégration des élèves malvoyantes au système scolaire ordinaire ;
  • Mettre à la disposition de ces élèves du matériel scolaire adapté ;
  • Améliorer l’acceptation de ces élèves par leurs camarades et les communautés locales en leur donnant la possibilité de prendre soin de leur hygiène personnelle et de développer leur confiance en soi ;
  • Leur faciliter les déplacements entre leurs foyers et l’école et ce faisant, réduire l’ampleur des abandons scolaires ; et
  • Aider ces élèves malvoyantes en leur fournissant des uniformes scolaires, pour qu’elles puissent se débarrasser d’un sentiment de culpabilité causé par leur incapacité financière à respecter l’une des exigences des écoles

Modes d’exécution du projet

  • Affecter les employés de l’organisation ayant les qualifications et l’expérience requises, au fonctionnement du projet ;
  • Utiliser le service de l’hôtel de l’organisation créé pour les étudiantes ayant un handicap visuel ou autre afin d’assurer l’impact du projet ;
  • Obtenir et fournir le matériel d’apprentissage comportant les fournitures scolaire et des équipements adaptés comme du papier braille, poinçon à tablette et canne blanche.
  • Organiser des cours d’information sexuelle – les soins qui s’y rattachent, l’égalité des sexes, l’autoprotection et tout ce qui concerne la vie quotidienne.
  • Acheter des produits destinés à l’hygiène personnelle et les distribuer régulièrement / chaque mois aux bénéficiaires.
  • Faciliter les déplacements des élèves entre leurs foyers et l’école en subventionnant leurs frais de transport.
  • Nommer des tuteurs et des lecteurs qui fourniront un service de tutorat aux élèves.
  • Aménagement, par le partenaire opérationnel, d’une résidence / un hôtel sécurisé et accessible pour les élèves, dans la ville d’Alemgena, à 20 km au sud-ouest de la capitale.
  • Obtenir et fournir un uniforme scolaire.
  • Conduire, surveiller les activités du projet et en évaluer la progression.
  • Rédiger et présenter des rapports trimestriels sur les progrès des activités et des finances au partenaire financier et aux administrations gouvernementales concernées.

Contexte

Ce projet est lancé pour aider l’organisation Help for Persons with Disabilities (HPD-O) (Aide aux personnes handicapées) à répondre aux besoins de ces élèves.  L’organisation d’aide aux personnes handicapées (HPD-O) est une organisation non gouvernementale interne, fondée en 1994 par un partenariat de personnes avec et sans handicap, mais partageant le même point de vue sur la question du handicap. L’organisation a mis en place plusieurs opérations de soutien destinées aux personnes handicapées, en différents domaines, et en utilisant une stratégie de réadaptation à base communautaire (RBC) pour répondre aux besoins essentiels des personnes handicapées.

Même s’il fait partie de la vie, les gens considèrent le handicap comme une tragédie personnelle causée par le péché, la malédiction et la colère de Dieu. Par conséquent, les personnes handicapées sont un des groupes les plus délaissés et marginalisés de la société. En Éthiopie, les personnes malvoyantes ont beaucoup de mal à accéder aux services publics et à se faire accepter dans les communautés locales.

Selon les estimations faites en 2012 par l’International Eye Foundation (IEF) basée aux États-Unis, il y aurait 700 000 personnes malvoyantes en Éthiopie. Cependant, l’étude menée en 2005/2006 par le Ministère fédéral de la santé révèle qu’il y a près de trois millions de personnes malvoyantes y compris les personnes avec une vue faible.

Le document de synthèse conjoint de l’OMS, l’OIT et l’UNESCO sur l’égalisation des chances pour les handicapés indique qu’au sein d’un groupe de personnes handicapées, les femmes sont particulièrement négligées et oubliées par la société dans laquelle elles vivent. Quelques évaluations disponibles ont prouvé que les filles avec un handicap, visuel ou autre, sont gravement exposées au harcèlement sexuel et autres multiples problèmes connexes.

Selon le rapport annuel des données statistiques sur l’éducation du Ministère fédéral de l’éducation de 2014/2015, 84 568 étudiantes handicapées ont pu suivre leurs études de l’enseignement pré-primaire jusqu’aux niveaux de l’enseignement supérieur. Le rapport a confirmé que le taux d’inscription des étudiantes handicapées n’était que de 40,82%.

Évaluation – Suivi

Selon la politique de l’organisation, chaque filiale de projet doit rédiger des rapports trimestriels et les présenter à la direction. Ces rapports trimestriels seront réunis et classés par la gestion du secrétariat et présentés aux réunions trimestrielles du bureau de gestion. Les activités et réalisations financières de l’organisation seront soigneusement évaluées et approuvées chaque année par l’assemblée générale de l’organisation.

En outre, la direction du siège effectuera un suivi régulier au niveau de la filiale / zone de projet. HPD-O encourage à ce que de telles visites de contrôle soient faites par les partenaires de financement et les bureaux gouvernementaux signataires. Le résultat financier de l’organisation sera également examiné par une société d’audit externe agréée. Par conséquent, la réalisation générale de ce projet sera surveillée conformément à ces valeurs d’intervention à long terme de l’organisation.

L’évaluation fera intégralement partie de l’activité du projet et sera un élément essentiel d’une bonne pratique de gestion. L’évaluation servira à suivre la progression du projet dans le temps, à en améliorer la gestion, l’administration, la responsabilité et en tant que premier élément pour mesurer les effets du projet. L’évaluation se fera en trois étapes :

  • à mi-parcours
  • en fin de parcours
  • après achèvement

Les évaluations seront réalisées pour analyser la pertinence, les résultats, l’efficacité et l’impact du projet dans le contexte des objectifs énoncés. En outre, une évaluation a posteriori sera effectuée une fois le projet terminé, annuellement pendant deux années consécutives. Le groupe de suivi mènera également l’évaluation. Les besoins de l’organisme donateur seront pris en compte en ce qui concerne la fréquence d’évaluation du projet.

Le projet sera sponsorisé par trois partenaires, le Club jumelé, HPD-O et SIAAC

Merci aux Clubs / Unions suivants:

Nous souhaitons soutenir ce Projet
Montant total collecté 5%

Galerie photo du projet


 

New Projects

Contact Info

72, route de Florissant 1206 Geneva, Switzerland

Phone: +41 (0)22 789 04 43

Fax: +41 (0)22 789 04 43

Web: www.soroptimisteurope.org

Educational Empowerment of Girl Students with Visual Impairment

//EDUCATIONAL EMPOWERMENT OF GIRL STUDENTS WITH VISUAL IMPAIRMENT IN ADDIS ABABA (Ethiopia)
EDUCATIONAL EMPOWERMENT OF GIRL STUDENTS WITH VISUAL IMPAIRMENT IN ADDIS ABABA (Ethiopia) 2020-09-03T21:53:51+00:00

Project Description

Educational Empowerment of Girl Students with Visual Impairment (Ethiopia)

  • Focus: Education
  • Location: Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)
  • Start date: As soon as possible (Project timeline is September 2018 – June 2019)
  • Club / Union : Soroptimist Club of Addis Ababa
  • Number of women/girls this project reached/will reach: 25

Funds needed:
€ 5,000

The Project

  1. Goals of the project

The overall objective of the project is to create enabling environment for the enhancement of the participation of 25 girl students with visual impairment in regular school system.

  • Objectives

The objectives of the project are to:

  • Strengthen the enrollment of girl students with visual impairment in regular school system;
  • Make available adaptive educational materials for visually impaired students;
  • Improve the acceptance of girl students with visual impairment with in their respective peers and local communities through enabling them to maintain their personal hygiene and build self-confidence;
  • Ease the mobility challenges of the beneficiaries between home and school and ultimately reduce the magnitude of dropouts; and
  • Help the targeted students with visual impairment to get relief from a sense of guilt caused by their financial incapability to meet one of the requirements of schools through securing school uniform.

Methods of Implementing the project

  • Assign the workers of the organization who have relevant qualification and experience to run the project;
  • Use the service of the hostel of the organization established for girl students with visual and other impairments as to ensure the effect of the project;
  • Procuring and supplying learning kit that contains adaptive educational materials and devices such as braille paper, slate stylus and white cane.
  • Organizing training on reproductive health – related care, gender equality, self-protection and life skills
  • Purchasing personal hygiene maintenance materials and distributing for the beneficiaries on regular/monthly basis.
  • Facilitating the mobility of the beneficiaries between home and schools through subsidizing their transport cost.
  • Assigning guardians and human readers to provide tutorial service for the beneficiaries;
  • Preparing safe and accessible residence/hostel by the implementing partner for the beneficiaries in Alemgena town, 20 kilometers south west of the capital.
  • Procuring and supplying school uniform.
  • Conducting and monitoring and evaluation on the progress of the project activities
  • Preparing and submitting quarterly activity and financial progress reports to the funding partner and concerned government line offices.

Context

This project is initiated to assist in the realization of needs that Help for Persons with Disabilities Organization (HPD-O) is trying to address.  Help for Persons with Disabilities Organization (HPD-O) is an endogenous nongovernmental organization established in 1994 by the partnership of persons with and without disabilities who had a common and shared vision on the issue of disability. The organization has been implementing various disability-focused support interventions in different project areas using Community-Based Rehabilitation (CBR) as a strategy to address the basic needs of Persons with Disabilities (PWDs).

Regardless of the fact that disability is a fact of life, it is considered by the people as personal tragedy caused by sin, curse and the wrath of God. As a result, persons with disabilities constitute one of the highly neglected and marginalized groups in a society. Persons with visual impairment in Ethiopia face particular difficulties in accessing public services and securing acceptance with in local communities.

According to the United State-Based International Eye Foundation (IEF) estimate disclosed in 2012, in Ethiopia, there were well over 700,000 persons with visual impairment. However, the 2005/6 assessment conducted by the Federal Ministry of Health revealed that there were nearly three million people with visual impairment including persons with low vision.

The 2004 WHO, ILO and UNESCO Joint Position Paper on the equalization of opportunities of person with disabilities pinpointed that among a group of people with disabilities; women with disabilities are extremely neglected and overlooked in a society they live in. Some available assessments substantiated that girls with visual and other impairment are seriously exposed to sexual harassment and other related manifold challenges.

In accordance with the 2014/15 Annual Educational Statistics Report of the Federal Ministry of Education, a total of 84,568 students with disabilities were facilitated to attend their study from pre-primary to higher education grade levels. The report confirmed that the enrollment rate of girl students with disabilities was only 40.82%.

Evaluation – Follow-up

As per the policy of the organization, each project branch office is required to produce quarterly reports and submit to the head of the organization. These quarterly reports will be compiled and organized by the management of the secretariat to be presented to the quarterly meetings of the Managing Board. The activity and financial performance of the organization will be thoroughly evaluated and endorsed annually by the General Assembly of the Organization.

In addition, the management of the head office will carry out regular monitoring at branch office/project area level. HPD-O encourages such monitoring visits to be conducted by funding partners and government signatory line offices. The financial performance of the organization will be furthermore investigated by an authorized and chartered external audit firm. Hence, the overall implementation of this project will be monitored in line with this long term intervention values of the organization.

Evaluation will be an integral part of the project activity and an essential unit of good management practice. Evaluation will be carried out to track project progresses over time and improve management, administration, and accountability and as initial basis for assessing project impacts. Evaluation will be carried out in three phases:

  • Mid-term
  • Phase-out
  • Post phase-out

Evaluations will be conducted to look into the relevance, performance, effectiveness and impact of the project in the context of its stated objectives. Moreover, post project phase-out evaluation will be carried out after project completion yearly for two consecutive years. The monitoring group will undertake the evaluation too. The need of the donor agency will be accommodated with regard to frequency of project evaluation.

The total estimated project cost amounts to EURO 8,082.76 or ETB 234,400.04. The project will be sponsored by three partners, the Sister Club, HPD-O and SIAAC.

Thank you to the following Clubs/Unions:

We want to support this Project
Total Raised 5%

Photo Gallery from Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)

New Projects

Contact Info

72, route de Florissant 1206 Geneva, Switzerland

Phone: +41 (0)22 789 04 43

Fax: +41 (0)22 789 04 43

Web: www.soroptimisteurope.org